Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

engine noise question, piston slap?

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2009, 08:11 PM
Captain Chaos
Squid

sweetriden76 is on a distinguished road
engine noise question, piston slap?

wondering if this is a normal thing for hawks with a lot of miles I have one I just bought with 35K on it, I put APE's on it, valves don't make any noise, but it makes a slight rattling/knocking noise that sounds like piston rock, its louder when cold, once it warms up it almost totally goes away, unless you really roll on the throttle under 3000rpm, once it gets to 4000rpm and above it's totally quiet...the local honda tech says they make a little noise but he hasnt listened to the bike yet, I am harley tech for a living but not super familiar with the hawks yet...thanks...
Old 10-04-2009, 09:16 PM
MotoGP

VTRsurfer is on a distinguished road
As a tech you know that piston slap decreases or goes away after warmup. The only way to know for sure would be to do a tear down.

But without hearing it in person, its hard to tell otherwise. These bikes do make weird noises, especially at low rpms.
Old 10-04-2009, 09:26 PM
Captain Chaos
Squid

well it is primarily at low RPMs don't worry we arn't alone, the harleys chug along at low rpm too, but for them its at a lower rpm since they are made to run slower. the sound going away is why im thinking its the pistons, if it is should i be concerned, do these have a habbit of cracking skirts, the screamin eagle harley pistons collapse over time and get a rattle, they have earned the nickname rocker pistons over for that reason. I just dont want it to blow up, if all its gonna do it make noise till it eventually wears out and looses power, then I'll just run the hell out of it till then and either rebuild or buy a low miles used mill so I dont have down time...
Old 10-04-2009, 09:50 PM
MotoGP

VTRsurfer is on a distinguished road