Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

CCT's an issue on 2003 models?

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2009, 12:09 AM
Squid

Superclean09 is on a distinguished road
CCT's an issue on 2003 models?

Hey guys,

I am a noob but have searched around and cannot find any info on whether Honda ever addressed the dreaded CCT issue. Seems like a lot of the guys that switched had '98-00 models. I have a 2003 with 4000 miles on it and wonder what I should do. Is there a period where the engine makes a noise before they go or is it one minute all is good and then it all goes bad? If Honda fixed the issue I will stick with the ACCT.

Thanks.
Old 10-05-2009, 12:27 AM
Who are you?
SuperSport

Just_Nick is on a distinguished road
Basically you really have no idea when they're gonna go. At some point they simply going to fail.
Honda made updated CCTs, however I do not know how long they last, nor if they fix the problem of failure. They simply use a thicker spring.
Personally I'd rather deal with adjusting Manual CCTs than risk the damage a failed cct can cause.
Old 10-05-2009, 02:11 AM
Out of my mind, back in 5
MotoGP

Tweety is on a distinguished road
Honda can't, and haven't "fixed the issue" as there is no issue...

CCT's are a wear item... They need to be replaced at certain intervalls...

It would be like you saying "Why haven't Honda fixed the issue with the oil, I still have to replace it after so-and-so miles..."

The stupid thing Honda did though, was that they didn't put a mileage intervall in the service manual telling people when to swap them...

There is a period when CCT's make noise before failing... But it's short and easily missed with a big twin... So when in doubt, change them...
Old 10-05-2009, 02:25 AM
RK1
MotoGP

RK1 is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by Tweety

It would be like you saying "Why haven't Honda fixed the issue with the oil, I still have to replace it after so-and-so miles..."