General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Trackday Tips

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2008, 10:38 PM
Back Marker
Back Marker

PJay is on a distinguished road
Trackday Tips

I am aware that the trackday season is under way in the Northern Hemsiphere, so thought I'd post this for you good people in the USA. I was asked to do the following posting in another VTR forum recently.

I am also well aware that many members of this forum are not at all happy with the standard VTR. My thoughts may not fit yours, and they're just my thoughts, so flame away if you like.

Background:

I instruct at Auckland M/C Club Advanced Training Days at Pukekohe - of which we're presently running about 5 or 6 a year. I've been instructing at this level for over 25 years; have won a couple of championships; still race in NZ and Australia when I can; and am a very, very long way from knowing it all.

At these training days, run for racers as well as road riders, I ride my own VTR and also my post classic race CB1100F.

VTR set-up:

Tyres (yeah, yeah, NZ spelling...) 32 psi front and 34 psi rear cold (ie about 5-6 less than I run them on on the street). Tyres are Pilot Powers. Machine is standard, but with the restrictors taken out of the carb inlet tracts. Suspension: static sag set to 20mm, damping set at about 2/3 of max, maybe a bit more. I weigh 95kg (200lb).

Riding:

We run for the slow novice, fast novice, and medium groups the "no passing on the inside" rules. Fast group is race rules ie pass wherever you like, but the safety of the passing manoeuvre is up to the overtaking rider.

Some general ideas:

1. Concentrate on smoothness. The speed will follow. You go slower by trying to go fast. If you have never been on the track before, try doing your first session without using the brakes at all. That way you can concentrate on smoothness and cornering lines.