Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Chain and sprockets?

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2013, 12:12 PM
Squid

Bbrennan83 is on a distinguished road
Chain and sprockets?

Hi Folks,
I have a 2001 Superhawk with 22k miles and the chain is looking a little tired… any recommendations for a good replacement? Should I replace the sprockets as well? they dont look so bad. I am a rookie at working on in bikes but I bet I can take this on, rather than pay a dealer. Where is a good place to buy parts? There are so many websites.
Thank you,
Old 03-04-2013, 04:45 PM
SuperBike

HRCA#1 is on a distinguished road
The short answer is if you replace the chain you replace the sprockets. The real question is what do you mean "the chain looks tired".

Is rusty, does it have tight spots, excessive slack. Have you tried to adjust it, lubed it?
Please understand I'm not looking at it so photo's would be helpful.
Old 03-04-2013, 05:34 PM
Banned
MotoGP

8541Hawk will become famous soon enough
You will hear a lot of different advice on what gearing to run.... there are enough threads on here to prove that.....

I would say stick with a high quality 530 chain (I run D.I.D. and are happy with them) and the stock 16\41 gearing with a steel rear sprocket.

What brand sprockets really isn't to critical.

Also you will need to buy a chain riveting tool if you plan to do this job yourself, as I believe a rivet master-link is the best choice for this bike.

Where to get them..... where ever you can find them.....
Old 03-05-2013, 01:09 AM
GTS
Seasoned tech
SuperSport

GTS is on a distinguished road
Always replace chain and sprockets as a set. Worn sprockest will wear out a new chain prematurely as will a worn chain with new sprockets.