SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   Chain and sprockets? (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/chain-sprockets-29931/)

Bbrennan83 03-04-2013 12:12 PM

Chain and sprockets?

Hi Folks,
I have a 2001 Superhawk with 22k miles and the chain is looking a little tired… any recommendations for a good replacement? Should I replace the sprockets as well? they dont look so bad. I am a rookie at working on in bikes but I bet I can take this on, rather than pay a dealer. Where is a good place to buy parts? There are so many websites.
Thank you,

HRCA#1 03-04-2013 04:45 PM

The short answer is if you replace the chain you replace the sprockets. The real question is what do you mean "the chain looks tired".

Is rusty, does it have tight spots, excessive slack. Have you tried to adjust it, lubed it?
Please understand I'm not looking at it so photo's would be helpful.

8541Hawk 03-04-2013 05:34 PM

You will hear a lot of different advice on what gearing to run.... there are enough threads on here to prove that..... :rotf::rotf:

I would say stick with a high quality 530 chain (I run D.I.D. and are happy with them) and the stock 16\41 gearing with a steel rear sprocket.

What brand sprockets really isn't to critical.

Also you will need to buy a chain riveting tool if you plan to do this job yourself, as I believe a rivet master-link is the best choice for this bike.

Where to get them..... where ever you can find them..... ;)

GTS 03-05-2013 01:09 AM

Always replace chain and sprockets as a set. Worn sprockest will wear out a new chain prematurely as will a worn chain with new sprockets.