Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Adjusting clutch engagement...there is a way...thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2009, 05:59 PM
Back Marker

Red_Liner740 is on a distinguished road
Adjusting clutch engagement...there is a way...thoughts?

Okay, so i was riding today and got on the throttle first to second and man, i felt what i was sure was clutch slippage, kinda along the lines of go to redline, sihft second and watch the needle slowly go down instead of snapping to lower rpm....nothing worse than to think that you gotta spend more cash and more imporantly have your bird down for who knows how long while you replace parts...

so i did the classic things to determine if it really is a slipping clutch....get on the gas while in gear, no problems, shift hard without using the clutch, still good....so i started playing with the engagent point...its grabbing really really late, which usually indicates a worn clutch...but once its fully out its fine...so i must have kept my fingers on the clutch a bit and that cause it to not engage fully.

so here i am reading up on this seeing if there's an adjustment and apparenty our bikes have late engagement...nothing we can do about it.

so i decided to tear into the slave cilinder and just see how the sucker works and if there is something that can be done....

well i see two options (other than replacing clutches). one option is to shorten the rod going through the case to the other side, this will require the slave cylinder to push further in before the clutches disengage, further the rod goes, more lever you have to apply to disengage. voila.