General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

New TX member introduction - chapters 1-47

Old 01-06-2012, 10:08 AM
Old and dangerous
SuperSport
SuperSport

rz_racer_69 is on a distinguished road
Smile New TX member introduction - chapters 1-47

Greetings list brethren. Another noob here. Just picked up my new to me '98 SH, red of course.

Always been a fan of these big twins, but one thing or another kept me from getting one of these. Luckily a coworker is also a fan, with a bit more cheddar, and he has been able to have a couple of them over the years. Sadly, as he approaches retirement, he has decided the SH was too much bike for him anymore. So he made me a deal. The deal was fantastic, so I saved my pennies and made the jump. It wasn't till I got it that I found out it only had 2,250 miles on it.

I was very surprised to say the least. He was the 3rd owner and took very good care of it, using a battery tender and starting it every so often as it sat in his hanger, he's a pilot too. Now he wants another bike and is looking at a 2009 Ninja 500, lol. The weather here has been very nice this winter.

So I've put 325 miles on it this 1st week of the new year, and so far, like it very much. It's got Heli bars on it and a smoked Zero Gravity stock sized screen. Other than that it is outwardly stock. The PO stated that another PO had done some jetting, but I haven't been able to find out how much. It does seem to carburet well, and got 42.5 actual mpg on a 90 mile test I did recently while holding 60-65 mph (GPS verified) on the highway. It gets ~34 mpg on the same test while holding ~80mph over ~90 miles (37.5 at 85-90 indicated over 100 miles indicated). When I get with it, the mileage drops below 30.