Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Noob hereHow does the TPS go back together

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2009, 03:39 AM
Squid

JoeSnowden is on a distinguished road
Noob hereHow does the TPS go back together

Hello guys, I have just bought a Firestorm (I'm in the UK) and it needs a few bit putting back on. I was wrestling with the carbs to put them on only to realise once I did get them on I forgot to screw in the chokes. Trying to get them back of was difficult so I thought, hmm easy, I'l just undo this side plate holding the two carbs together and ping! What I believe to be parts of the TPS popped out, a spring and a plastic piece which I pressume the spring rotates?

My question, how do I put it back together?

Many thanks,

Joe
Old 02-27-2009, 09:20 AM
Administrator
World Champion

Hawkrider will become famous soon enoughHawkrider will become famous soon enough
Joe,

The best way to do this is to pull the carbs, slot the shear screws holding on the TPS (with a Dremel), and use a flat-blade screwdriver to remove the TPS bolts. You need to CAREFULLY put it back on. Many guys have broken theirs attempting to reinstall it. There is a pin that has to go into a slot on the linkage. Miss the slot and try to tighten it? Voila, broken TPS.

Once the carbs are together, install the carb heating hoses, choke cables, and throttle cables. Then install the carbs on the motor.

The carbs will, and must, go on as a set. Try some silicone spray to aid getting them into the intake boots. Do one, then the other. Ensure they are fully seated and then tighten the clamps.

Since you have loosened the connecting brackets you MUST do a carb sync and adjust the TPS once the bike is running again.
Old 02-27-2009, 09:23 AM
SuperSport

yruyur is on a distinguished road
Here is the microfiche of the carb assembly, hope this helps http://fiche.ronayers.com/Index.cfm/...ARBURETOR_ASSY
Old 02-27-2009, 10:18 PM
SuperSport

reaper is on a distinguished road