Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

High Compression

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2007, 11:13 AM
Squid

98greenchicken is on a distinguished road
High Compression

In your guys opinion is it really worth the money and effort to go High-Comp. I would like to but I don't think the 20 hp would justify a total rebuild. Let me know what you think. I am new to hawks so I know little about the process but can handle the build.
Old 09-20-2007, 11:21 AM
SuperBike

cliby is on a distinguished road
Hi comp? in isolation, no, I don't think many would say it was worth it. If you can go the full engine mod route (hc, cams, porting, exhaust) then maybe. Depends on what you want to get out of it. My bike is a very different performing bike than when it was stock, without a doubt. But mostly, I enjoy the bike, I like working on it, like learning and tweaking, so its been a positive project in that way. The gains are real, but in the 15% range. Only you can decide if that is worth it or just simpler to buy a different bike. I think most of us do it because we're obsessed, or like working on them but really fundamentally have a strong attachment to the bike so its worth it. Otherwise save the money and buy a 1000RR

bill
Old 09-20-2007, 11:42 AM
Squid

I love my bike and will forever be with it. I just had some mod money around and was looking into it. I think for now it has great power but more is better, right? Thanks for the advice, I guess when I blow it up I will have to look in that direction. Any idea what the average price on that kit is?
Old 09-20-2007, 02:08 PM
ole dirty bastard
SuperSport

hawxter996 is an unknown quantity at this point
Originally Posted by 98greenchicken