Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Help with petcock problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2019, 07:57 AM
Squid

Danno is on a distinguished road
Help with petcock problem

I let my bike sit most of last year. I was busy and I wanted to replace the CCTs before I started riding it a lot. So I finally replaced the CCTs last month. I did the "stopper/failsafe mod." Finally, I was ready to have a great summer riding the bike. Wrong. I fired it up and it ran like crap. I could smell gas when I fired it up, it idled horribly and when I rolled on the throttle on the highway it barely accelerated. Ugh. I am 99% certain the problem is not related to the CCTs. I read every post on how to replace them before I attempted the job and verified the timing chain didn't skip. I know I properly measured the 8mm stock I put in the CCTs because, when I released them, I could feel that I got about 1/4 turn of spring tension before the CCT made contact with the cam chain.