Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Gasoil revisited

Old 05-04-2009, 09:24 PM
Administrator
World Champion

Hawkrider will become famous soon enoughHawkrider will become famous soon enough
Gasoil revisited

Went to BeaveRun this weekend for a few track days. T'was a great time! I took both the VTR and the 1000RR and did some things I've never done before on either bike...but more on that later.

The VTR was idling like ****. She ran strong at anything over 3000 rpm but below that was missing and spitting a bit. I was pretty sure the carbs were still not clean. So today I pulled them back out. Found some (more) water in the bowls. One idle jet hole was completely clogged and was the reason for the idling problem. All back together and after a quick carb sync she runs smooth again.

I added some Heet to take care of the water. I've no idea where it came from. The bikes are garaged always and topped off for winterization. I just hope that's the last of it.

About the track day: I had some CRAZY lean angles on the VTR this weekend. One thing I've never had a problem with is dragging my foot in turns due to proper foot position, but this weekend I actually dragged a slider on the side of my boot a little bit. I was running 2-1/2 year old Dunlop 208GP(A) tires and was unsure whether they would still be good. After a number of cautious laps I gained confidence in them. I sure did **** off one of the NESBA guys for running that slow in Advanced class though. We had words... The tires are pretty much destroyed on the right side so they've done their job and will now go to race tire heaven.

On the CBR I was running some crazy lean angles too. I touched down a peg (no feeler) and I never thought that would happen. This was running regular Michelin Pilot Powers even!