Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Engine Knocking???CCT?

Old 04-15-2013, 08:02 AM
Squid

EVILGENIUS is on a distinguished road
Engine Knocking???CCT?

Hello everyone

Im new to this forum and to this bike. Love them both lol, i have 1998 vtr
that i picked up off a trade for my 2000 cbf F4. The bike needed alot of tlc but i got her up and running. i turned her on yesterday and notice a knock coming from the front by the gas tank, i ignored it and took it around the block and it would go away at high rpm's, but it got louder so i shut her off. Im new to v-twins but im a certifierd auto mechanic and have worked a little on i4 bikes. Ive been reading alot about the CCT on thesed bikes going bad. It did sound like if a chain was slapping but idk. I also though it would be valves but i dont see a reson why they would go bad. If its the cct did i damge the valves?
any help would be appreciated, thanks
Old 04-15-2013, 08:21 AM
SuperBike

Wicky is on a distinguished road
Check if the timing is to spec (cam chain will jump sprockets if a CCT fails) and the valve clearances.

If you've got off lightly replace damaged valves and guides (or transplant second-hand head on) and fit manual CCTs to prevent a reoccurrence.

Also as you've got a '98 early model replace unfinned R/R with a later improved finned version / or upgrade to a MOSFET version.

Old 04-15-2013, 08:52 AM
Squid

i will do that as soon as i get off work, im going to take off the tank and start deconstruction. Thanks
Old 04-15-2013, 02:03 PM
Sprung
World Champion

Hawkrider will become famous soon enoughHawkrider will become famous soon enough
HA! Anyone ever noticed the first 4 letters/numbers of the unfinned regulator part number?
Old 04-15-2013, 04:26 PM
SuperSport

matt365 is on a distinguished road
lol, totally noticed that long ago.

It is ****...
Old 04-17-2013, 09:21 AM
Squid