Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Knocking Noise

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2007, 07:12 AM
Squid

ericrosendall is on a distinguished road
Knocking Noise

Hey Guys,

Love this forum - great info. Here's my story...

Just bought a 98 Superhawk with 34K on it after wanting one for years. It starts and runs well (wheelies - wow!) but it has what I consider a rather loud knocking noise coming from the lower end. If I had to make a guess it sounds like a lower rod bearing. The CCT's are stock but it's not the "rattle" the everyone describes.

I've been wrenching on bikes (mostly dirt) and cars for 30 years but this is only my second road bike. Do VTR/V-twins just makes this noise normally or did I buy a lemon? Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Eric
Old 04-22-2007, 07:32 AM
ole dirty bastard
SuperSport

hawxter996 is an unknown quantity at this point
Originally Posted by ericrosendall
Hey Guys,

Love this forum - great info. Here's my story...

Just bought a 98 Superhawk with 34K on it after wanting one for years. It starts and runs well (wheelies - wow!) but it has what I consider a rather loud knocking noise coming from the lower end. If I had to make a guess it sounds like a lower rod bearing. The CCT's are stock but it's not the "rattle" the everyone describes.

I've been wrenching on bikes (mostly dirt) and cars for 30 years but this is only my second road bike. Do VTR/V-twins just makes this noise normally or did I buy a lemon? Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Eric

does the noise change when you hold in the clutch?
mine makes a noise similar to what you are talking about.
it is rather noisy in the clutch area.
if it was a rod bearing i think you would hear it get louder as
you twisted the throttle.
Old 04-22-2007, 07:49 AM
Squid

Had to go start it and listen...