Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Disabled pair now bike won't start

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2010, 05:07 PM
Back Marker

steve29 is on a distinguished road
Disabled pair now bike won't start

I'm really hoping someone has an answer to this. I disabled the pair check valves as described in greg's article. It's probably worth mentioning that when I took off the tank the vaccum tube that hooked into the tank was cracked. I replaced the 2" section of hose that runs from the tank and pushes onto the tube. When I started the bike it idled terribly then stalled. So I changed pair back to stock. Fired it up, would only run under full choke and then died. Haven't been able to start it since. Is it something with the vaccum tube? Any ideas? Thanks
Old 04-07-2010, 06:37 PM
SuperSport

mboe794 is on a distinguished road
PVLIR? Try a search if this term seems alien to you.
Old 04-07-2010, 07:04 PM
Back Marker

No. Don't think it's pvlir. It's my first time pulling the tank on the bike since I got it back from the shop, maybe they screwed something up. There's only 4 hoses and it seemed like it would be hard to screw it up. But I hope that's what happened, would defintely be the most hassle free fix. Will double check in the morning. I didn't hook it to the petcock valve or anything. I hooked it on the far right on that small nipple. Are there more than one place that hose will fit? Given the drastic difference in size compared to the others it couldn't go anywhere else. Any thoughts?

After looking in the shop manual I noticed there are s total of 5 hoses to be removed. I only removed 4. Can't remember how many needed pulled when I had the tank off to shim the needles. But I am certain that I didn't have any cracked hoses. Perhaps when the shop was doing the dyno work they screwed something up then rigged it just to get by?

Last edited by steve29; 04-07-2010 at 08:37 PM. Reason: Add info
Old 04-07-2010, 07:21 PM
Back Marker