Old 08-11-2007, 02:20 PM
Squid

Rydebye
backfiring and less than optimal power

here is the specs....

98 superhawk with 24k miles on it...
has a jet kit and owner supposedley said its tuned for colorado specs
PAIR is disabled

Probs are that when started it backfires until its warmed up...even when warmed up it backfires a lot about 20 mph to 0...on occasion there will be a backfire in the carbs...also it kind of stutters while riding at random times...when in 6th gear on the highway going 70-80 its perfectly fine though....mostly stutters around town...

spark plugs have been changed and if anything were a lil white and looked like it was running lean. Im thinking carbs syncing/cleaning and valves...anybody know really whats going on?
Old 08-11-2007, 11:53 PM
Back Marker

saxman is on a distinguished road
Well, I'm NOT an expert on working with these things, but this really sounds like the same problem I had for a couple months. Mine was the diaphragm/ vacuum piston on top of the carb. My diaphragm had a 1/4" tear in it (that saying can NEVER be good!). Anyway, bought a new one (not cheap!) and now it runs great. It had the same symptoms tho, power loss, coughing/ missing/ backfiring. It would be worth a look. Just watch tearing into it. There is a spring when you take the cover off that can be a bear! There are a few threads here about it.

https://www.superhawkforum.com/forum...ead.php?t=3414

I don't know if this is the problem, but it sure sounds a lot like what I fought for a couple months, although mine acted up on the highway occasionally also.......I'm sure there are some others that may have a better idea for you. There's a wealth of knowledge here.........good luck!
Old 08-12-2007, 08:59 PM
Squid

Rydebye
thanks any suggestions are welcome...just trying to narrow it down....how much was it to replace??
Old 08-13-2007, 09:07 AM
Superstock

redman is on a distinguished road