General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

New Old SH owner

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2011, 06:08 AM
SuperBike

xeris is on a distinguished road
New Old SH owner

By the post count you can tell that I'm a newbie. Here's some info on myself and the bike.
I have owned MCs in the past (around 40 years ago) so I'm more like a new rider. I still have some muscle memory, but not much. I am though, a total gear head and enjoy all things that burn gasoline and well, spirited driving. Isn't that the political correct term for breaking traffic laws?
I have done a few project cars over the years, so I have some skills with a wrench. That said, I am constantly humbled by what I have seen here and on other forum sites.
A buddy of mine re-entered the two-wheeled world after a two or so year break and that got my lust for a bike going again.
I did research, spent hours on CL, lurked on forum sites, read reviews on line till i was very confused. I changed my mind on which bike I was going to get at least a dozen times. There were some that I would keep coming back to. These bikes all had one thing in common. A reputation for being very fun to ride.
The ones that stuck were the SV650, last generation of Buell Lightning or the 1125CR (yeah I know, I know) and the SH.https://www.superhawkforum.com/forum...ad.php?t=24565 This is the very bike that pushed me over the edge for a SH) I really wanted something in the liter class so when a shop owner here in my town made mention of a SH he was selling for his brother-inlaw, a 98', <6k mi. red (the second fastest color) for $1700 I was on it!