General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

New Member....thinking about a VTR....got questions!

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2008, 05:27 PM
Squid

rcmay is on a distinguished road
New Member....thinking about a VTR....got questions!

I'm seriously considering buying a new motorcycle soon. With the prices of gas these days, I can pay for the note and the insurance with the money I will save on gas on my 60 mile round trip daily commute. I started riding 4-5 years ago, my first bike was a 1980 CB650 for about 6 months, then a 03 CBR 600rr rode it for a year and moved to FL and sold it beforehand. Then I purchased a 01 929rr from a friend and rode it for 3 months before he had to buy it back from me. Ive been trying to research the types of bikes I would like to own and what will suit be the best. First off, I love sportbikes I love hitting the twisties out in the country, but I need something that will be comfortable enough to ride 60 miles a day. Ive been thinkng about several different bikes and the Superhawk is high on my list. Im also considering a VFR 800 but a newer one can be quite expensive for what Im getting IMO. Im also looking at a Suzuki DL650 Vstrom, I like the fact that I can purchased a brand new one for probably less than $6k, but I dont know if its sporty enough for me. And last but not least is an RC51, probably not the most practical for me, but its always been my dream bike and I might just be able to suffer through the long commute with that big Vtwin ringing in my ears! So Ive been out of the motorcycle game for about 2 years, and I need your guys opinions. Lemme have em!
Old 04-11-2008, 05:42 PM
SuperBike

Thumper is an unknown quantity at this point
Well you ought to know we are going to be VTR biased.

If i were commuting that far each day and still wanted a fun sportbike that is comfortable i would look seriously at the SV650S or SV650 2003 or later model.