General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Ebay: do you trust you're getting clean goods?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2009, 11:58 AM
SuperSport

chickenstrip
Ebay: do you trust you're getting clean goods?

So I'm fairly new to buying through Ebay. I do most of my shopping through Craig's List. But I just bought a pair of F4i calipers that are in such good condition - I mean like not used condition - for only $60, and I can't help but wonder where a seller picks up such unscathed parts.

If you buy through Ebay do you attempt to filter potentially stolen goods? If so, what's your method?
Old 06-20-2009, 04:51 PM
Back Marker

VTRFISH
When I was stationed in San Diego a freind saw a bunch of parts that looked just like custom parts on his bike.....that was stolen the week before. Parts were in LA.

He contacted the local cops in San Diego and LA. Was told they "couldn't" do anything.

He also bid on his own parts. When he won a bid he was told he could pick up the parts at a shopping center parking lot. He called the cops again and was told if he picked up the parts he could be charged with recieving stolen goods.
Old 06-20-2009, 05:30 PM
Slacker
Superstock
Superstock

BeerHunter is an unknown quantity at this point
It almost sounds like the cop that he talked to and the thief were one in the same person. Any way you look at it, it's a fucked up situation to be in.
I bought a replacement swing arm off eBay for my bike to as part of the salvage rebuild. The one I received had the part number sanded off, as if that number was a unique identifier. It was likely from a stolen bike, but I had no way of proving it and therefore had no information to give to authorities. You never really can know for sure though. It sucks, but that is a part buying used goods online.
Old 06-20-2009, 05:41 PM
Greenmeansgo!
Back Marker

Reason is on a distinguished road