Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Spark problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2014, 08:30 AM
Squid

bzera is on a distinguished road
Spark problems

I'm completely lost. I have no spark at the moment. It randomly will come back. But not correctly now. Like maybe a cylinder is out. Getting only one warm pipe if it ran. But mostly no spark.

What I've done.

- new battery - tested and is giving correct volts
- just replaced another rr with mofset rr - tach came back as well as spark. Spark only back for a few mins.
- replaced pulse generator - dont think I could have messed it up And didn't think it was this because problem is the same.
- tried 3 new sets of plugs
- I have done some electrical testing but I'm no expert. Dont think I'm getting peak voltage to coils.

- I've looked to connections to clean. But nothing has corrosion. No buildup. At worst it looks dusty.

I troubleshooted like the manual told me. Fuel reaching carbs. When there is spark it does even need half a crank to start. Pretty sure low peak voltage to none alot of times. Pulse generator wasnt getting .7 volts. All over the place.

I'm worried because my icm was zip tied when I got to it. Manual says dropping it can ruin it. I've already sunk so much money and time into. Been to two shops, ive spent a ton nobody has an idea. Please and suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

No spark

Last edited by bzera; 05-13-2014 at 08:47 AM.
Old 05-13-2014, 09:22 AM
SuperBike

Wicky is on a distinguished road
Swap the coils around and see if the working warm pipe changes. Replace ICM and electrogubbins in tail with second-hand known working modules.
Old 05-13-2014, 09:52 AM
Squid

I got no spark to do coil swap. And 99% of time I don't have it so I can't test to see if other pipe will be hot.