Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Regulator/rectifier woes.....somethings not right here.

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2011, 08:37 PM
Back Marker

scooter72 is on a distinguished road
Regulator/rectifier woes.....somethings not right here.

I was on my way to work a couple of days ago, and after about 20 mins of riding, I look down and notice my tach is reading 0, but its still running. In my head i'm thinking "regulator is probably going out on me",make it another 3 blocks, no speedo now. Pull into a parking lot, still running , stop and notice smoke coming from the regulator and my lights are getting dimmer. At that point I knew it was screwed, so I shut it down and called a friend to pick me and the bike up and took it to my work(i'm a mechanic by trade).

Pulled off the tail, noticed that the regulator had leaked, and was screwed. All fuses(main included) were good. Stator tested out @ 0.7ohms, Good. Grounds good, R/R connector in good shape with no traces of melting. So, I pulled the battery, put it on a charger, and called my local shop for a new regulator.

I had planned on upgrading it, but I needed to get it going, So I just picked up an aftermarket Emgo stock replacement...not my first choice, but I was in a jam. I put it in, clean the grounds, apply dielectric grease to the terminals, install a freshly charged battery and fire it up with my meter attached and got 13.6-13.8v @ idle. Not too bad, monitor for 10 mins and its still the same. Problem fixed right?

Hop on and take it for a ride....2km later, at highway speed, bike dies...no power...no lights...nothing. Pull over, remove seat, and the main fuse is blown...and blown good. Look over and run my hand over the regulator...could feel something internal has blown through the potting on the regulator, so it is now screwed too.