Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Quiz time!! more electrical issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2008, 11:30 AM
Squid

dakmatik is on a distinguished road
Quiz time!! more electrical issues

All right, here's the story. I bought my hawk last winter and replaced the RR unit with a cheapy off of ebay. I started riding and all was good until, I blew a headlight bulb. Ok, figured the bulb just crapped out. I ended up replacing the bulb, then decided to test the voltage. I was getting 17.5V at idle. not good. So in order to keep riding I threw the old one back on and continued going about my business. Well, a week later that one gave up the ghost about 75miles from home. So a phone call and 3 hours later a friend drove down with the ebay one so I could get home.
Now, since that one had proved problematic in the past, I ordered a new electrosport one from dennis kirk. A week later it came in, I installed it, tested the voltage, 13.8@4krpm or so. Now, a month later, out for a ride, and just as I start to pull out from an intersection, the bike almost dies, then picks up again, and my gauges are going nuts. Basically bouncing all over the place, then nothing. I immediately pull over and now I have nothing. The main fuse is blown. Luckily I started carrying spares with me after the first incident. I replace the fuse and check the voltage and find its only getting 12.5V@about 4-5krpm. Not good again. I ended up going riding for the rest of the day with no problems.