Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

chain question

Old 02-24-2008, 08:09 PM
Squid

PRTSMN is on a distinguished road
Wink chain question

"chain lube" or "gear oil" is my question the honda owners manual says to use 80-90w gear oil thats a mess though what do you recomend. thanks to you all. this is beenso helpfull to me since i am new to the bike scene.
Old 02-24-2008, 08:14 PM
RIP Zy! You will always be in our hearts.
SuperSport

Blue Ridge Boy is on a distinguished road
I use Pro Honda HP Chain Lube. $6.99 for a 13 oz. can.
I spray my chain before every long ride...and it works great.
Old 02-24-2008, 09:15 PM
SuperBike

Thumper is an unknown quantity at this point
Originally Posted by PRTSMN
"chain lube" or "gear oil" is my question the honda owners manual says to use 80-90w gear oil thats a mess though what do you recomend. thanks to you all. this is beenso helpfull to me since i am new to the bike scene.
Neither,

I use WD40 to put a coat on the outside of the chain to cut down on rusting. All the lubrication is inside the rollers on a good o-ring type chain.

Been doing this for 25 years and i get great sproket and chain wear on Street and dirt bikes.

Heck of a lot cheaper and easier on the wheels. All you need is one pass just after you finish your last ride.
Old 02-25-2008, 08:20 AM
SuperBike

trinc is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by Thumper
Neither,

I use WD40 to put a coat on the outside of the chain to cut down on rusting. All the lubrication is inside the rollers on a good o-ring type chain.

Been doing this for 25 years and i get great sproket and chain wear on Street and dirt bikes.

Heck of a lot cheaper and easier on the wheels. All you need is one pass just after you finish your last ride.
read the update at the bottom:

http://www.webbikeworld.com/t2/motorcycle-chain-lube/

tim
Old 02-25-2008, 09:15 AM
SuperBike

L8RGYZ is an unknown quantity at this point