Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

99 sprhawk Only one cyclinder running other wont even manual crank around help please

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2015, 02:35 PM
Squid

Faithful_Lie is on a distinguished road
99 sprhawk Only one cyclinder running other wont even manual crank around help please

I am new to the forums. I would like to start off by telling you I am no mechanic. Ive changed my own oil, and flushed my fluids but other then that I don't know much. Quick learner and don't have the money to pay 3 grand they wanted to fix my 99 honda superhawk with around 48,000 miles.

Start from the beginning took the bike out for a ride about a year ago got to a red light the bike stalled, i cranked it back up and noticed it sounded very bad. Super loud clanking every other half a second or second. Didn't have as much power as before road it home very slow about a mile and half down the road. The bike sounded like it was gonna blow up!

Took it to a mechanic they said one of the cylinders wouldn't manual crank over? They assumed something broke off into the cylinder and was preventing the piston from moving. Wanted 3 grand because of all the labor to take apart the whole engine and put it back together.

Would love to try to fix the bike my self! If i mess up along the way and it can't be fixed I am at no loss as it does not already run. Would love to be able to fix it but if i cannot I will probably just part it out any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Also I downloaded this VTR1000F Honda Service Manual OCR.pdf is this the right service manual for a 1999 honda superhawk?
Old 02-03-2015, 03:17 PM
Thread Killer
SuperBike

VTR1000F is on a distinguished road
One possibility: OEM auto CCT let go, timing jumped, piston hit valves & one broke off. If so, you've got a lot of damage on your hands. Do you have access to any type of inspection camera so you can look through the spark plug hole to see what's going on in the bad cylinder?