Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

520 XW Ring -CHAIN: Rivet-Type or Clip Masterlink?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2008, 12:17 PM
The Doc
Squid

TheRedSteed is on a distinguished road
Question 520 XW Ring -CHAIN: Rivet-Type or Clip Masterlink?

Hey guys, I purchased a XW RING 520 conversion chain with new sprokets because my chain was blown and I wanted to re-gear the steed. The stock sprocket sizes are 16T in the front and a 41T in the rear giving a final drive ratio of 2.56. I swaped the front with a 15T and the rear with a 43T to make the ratio 2.87. Theoretically, this should make a noticable improvement.

QUESTION IS:
The chain is a "rivet-type" master-link that requires a special rivet press. This press is expensive and must be ordered. I have a standard clip-type master link that I could install using the XW rings. Will this be a good idea?
Will this effect performance or will it be a safetey concern?

I don't want to take any risks, so please tell me your thoughts.

Thanks!
Old 03-26-2008, 12:20 PM
SuperBike

cliby is on a distinguished road
its only the chain, under 100 hp stress, one of the most important components in the drive train as far as safety go. by all means cheap out on it..................

Kidding. You'll likely hear other comments, but there is no way I'd ride without a rivet chain - too much at stake. Having said that the riveting has to be done right with proper tools - you could have the shop simply do it for you or get the $80 tool from Motion Pro

My opinion
Old 03-26-2008, 01:19 PM
The Doc
Squid

Thanks Bill, I appreciate the quick response and the good advice.
I will have the shop press the rivets for me.

Like you said... "It's only the chain, under 100 hp stress, one of the most important components in the drive train as far as safety go"