Modifications - Performance Discuss aftermarket and DIY performance modifications

Help! Gotta buy the right chain tomorrow.

Old 01-12-2008, 06:49 PM
BANNED IN D.C.
SuperSport

Condor is on a distinguished road
Help! Gotta buy the right chain tomorrow.

I'm going ot defer to the experts on this one..... I am keeping the front sprocket w/ stock, but i am going to 43 teeth on the rear sprocket. I have to get a new chain, but i am not really sure what type of chain to get since im not doing a 520 conversion, per se. any suggestions? master link??
Old 01-12-2008, 06:59 PM
Back Marker

434josh is on a distinguished road
I am no expert, but the advice I can give is that I have always been told by my racing friends that you stay even/odd on sprockets to keep chain/sprocket wear even.
Old 01-12-2008, 10:59 PM
Hmm?
SuperBike

marmaladedad is on a distinguished road
Rivet type is much stronger than the clip type.

If you are keeping the stock front sprocket, then you would need to stick to the stock 530 sized chain.

I've never had a problem with my DID or Regina chains.
Old 01-12-2008, 11:40 PM
RK1
MotoGP

RK1 is on a distinguished road
No chain guru either, but I know the OEM 530 chain is 102 links and that length is supposed to work fine with the +2 rear sprocket.
Old 01-12-2008, 11:44 PM
BANNED IN D.C.
SuperSport