Modifications - Performance Discuss aftermarket and DIY performance modifications

First performance upgrade for a Stock Hawk?

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2009, 11:45 AM
Squid
Squid

thumper61713 is on a distinguished road
Talking First performance upgrade for a Stock Hawk?

I have a completely stock 2001, what is a good beginner upgrade I can do with my bike? I also wanted to know if anyone knew where to get a service manual for a superchicken, I want to service my bike myself and I know I am competent enough if I have instructions as I am a Electronic Tech in the CG.
Old 07-10-2009, 12:10 PM
MotoGP

VTRsurfer is on a distinguished road
The factory service manual can be ordered through any Honda dealer, or I believe you can download the manual from the forum.
Old 07-10-2009, 12:13 PM
Back Marker

tbartley is on a distinguished road
http://www.superhawk996.net/Honda_VT...ice_Manual.pdf

There's your manual...download it, burn it to disk, and then print off the parts you need as you do the work. First mod I would suggest is "imparing" the bike (very easy to do), i.e., remove the PAIR system. Many others to follow, TPS adjustment, etc. Utilize the KB articles...very helpful. I'm sure you will receive many suggestions on what to do. I also have an 01 and spent every evening this week doing things, to include removing the CA emissions. Gonna ride when I get off work. Good luck with yours, tyronne

Last edited by tbartley; 07-10-2009 at 12:16 PM. Reason: include the KBs
Old 07-10-2009, 12:14 PM
Ottawa, Ont.
Squid

Riff is on a distinguished road
In no particular order I found best bang for the buck from:
- braided SS lines
- racetech springs
- aftermarket pipes

I presume the original Michelin Macadams are loooong gone?

I did all the jetting, air-filter, sprocket changes you no doubt will have suggested to you shortly... I've since returned all these to their factory settings where I found peace and predictability.