Knowledge Base Feedback, Questions on Knowledge Base articles.

AngryOlaf's Homemade Fork Tools! (Fork Oil Height Tool and Oil Seal Tool)

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2010, 04:58 PM
Superstock

AngryOlaf is on a distinguished road
AngryOlaf's Homemade Fork Tools! (Fork Oil Height Tool and Oil Seal Tool)

Welcome to AngryOlaf's Homemade Fork Tools Post!
(or... how to have just enough knowledge and imagination to be dangerous in the garage)

I just hacked together a few homemade tools for my fork rebuild this week and I thought I would share.

Disclaimer: I am not a professional and in no way guarantee the results or appropriateness of the tools and methods I describe below. They worked for me, but that may have been dumb luck! Suspension work is complicated and has a major impact on the safety of your bike, and it should not be entered into lightly. If in doubt, you should probably find someone experienced and qualified to do the work.

Angry Olaf's "Random Stuff Around the House" Fork Oil Height Tool:

Requires:
1 - long thin metal tube (I used an extension tip from a $3 compressor air gun attachment from Harbor Freight. Any long thin rigid metal tube should do.)
1 - Large binder clip (standard office supply)
1 - piece of flexible tube (mine was extra from a brake bleeder)
1 - Poultry injector (from kitchen - came with a rotisserie. basically a large syringe)
1 - Roll electrical tape (may or may not be necessary depending on your exact parts
1 - Ruler with mm markings for setting oil height on the tool.

Optional: A vacuum brake bleeder in place of the poultry syringe and flexible tube. (This was my backup plan!)

Drill a hole slightly larger than your metal tube through the center of your binder clip. Press the clip open and slide the tube through. (This is your height adjuster!)