General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

wheelies

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2005, 08:42 AM
Squid

vtromey
wheelies

so, i finally got my VTR up to almost 12 o'clock, almost hurt my abs doin it, felt like i was punched in the stomach by the tank . anyway, i popped it up on 1st gear, up to about 3 grand, then whaked on the throttle. wow!
anyway, i'm new to all this and was wondering what would be the safest way to go up on one that is also easier on the motor/bearings/tranny. i'm also runnin on stock sprockets and chain, will be getting slip ons and jet kit down the road. . .

is it better to go up on 2nd gear? i'm sure you can hold em longer on 2nd.
how do you clutch a wheelie (at what rpms are you workin with on the VTR when clutchin, on 2nd or 3rd even?) standing vs sitting? clutch vs power wheelies?
have any of you guys changed your stearing head bearings cause of too many wheelies?! :wink:

and lemme get this straight, power wheelies are harder on the tranny, while clutch wheelies are harder on the clutch, so my take is it's better to fry the clutch cause that's cheaper to replace?

anyway, i'm a mature rider, been riding for 8 years, and this is my first crack at wheelies (my other bikes weren't wheelieable). just wanna get skilled at it.

preciate any tips
Old 07-22-2005, 11:30 PM
Superstock

nineighthawk
One word of advice.. start small...

First gear wheelies with the SH are very hard on the bike due to the speed that it happens.. you will tear up head bearings pretty fast. In first gear the bike slams down real hard if you chop the throttle.

Second is my prefered wheelie gear with the SH. My hawk is set up with a 15/43 sprocket combo, so I can power up in second although I prefer to clutch up.