General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

pair system closure

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2005, 03:15 PM
Superstock

ClevelandSuperhawkRumble
pair system closure

yes... i know, im abusing this site like an animal. my post to reply ratio is about 432332432432 : 1 . anyways, i went to the knowledgebase and hoped to find the pair system removal to be thorough, but its not... not if you dont know what the heck anything looks like ! ! ! im new to this SH , and it said something about removing a valve and making it permanently closed (cant remember, was last night) , but i am like most guys, who hate directions and love pics. i dont know what to look for is my problem.... got the concept, but dont know what it looks like...

p.s. ... anyone have any other maintenance tips while i am under the tank? (ie: carb synch, jetting, needle work)
Old 03-16-2005, 04:21 PM
Squid

demetri
did you see the PAIR link on; Greg's VTR page?
Old 03-16-2005, 04:36 PM
faz
Superstock

faz
Re: pair system closure

the picture below is from Greg's site. You don't really need to remove the whole thing, just unplug the hoses from the Pair control valve (hoses that go to each cylinder head), and connect them to each other using some connector hose or something. This way there is no fresh air being introduced to the cylinder heads from the control valve.
Old 03-16-2005, 07:02 PM
MotoGP

superbling is on a distinguished road

Get a service manual or if you are just too damn cheap, I'll burn you a CD version. The SM doesn't cover the pair mod, of course, but you would be able to understand it by using the good pics in the manual.

Wanna' an easy pair mod? Leave everything alone and just pull the hoses off on top of the valve covers and stick a rubber "cork" into the metal tube and then slip the hoses back on. Done.
Old 03-17-2005, 03:15 AM
Hmm?
SuperBike

marmaladedad is on a distinguished road