General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

out of gas!

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2009, 04:28 PM
SuperSport

Stevebis1 is on a distinguished road
out of gas!

So I'm sitting here in a veterinarians parking lot about 2.5 miles From my house out of gas. Wife is out and doesn't answer her cell. Light went on about 125 and now it says 147. I guess I pushed to far. Sigh... At leat I have my blackberry
Old 07-28-2009, 05:26 PM
MotoGP

inderocker is an unknown quantity at this point
Been there... pushed my old hawk over 5 miles to a gas station once.
Old 07-28-2009, 06:03 PM
SuperSport

Back home, all gassed up
But...
What the frig is up with this ALLEGED 4.23 gallons?!?
I'm still relatively new to my Hawk, but I've read all the posts bitching about the small tank, the low gass mileage, etc. But I never figured I'd be one of the ones caught out of gas.
I can do math in my head and this doesn't add up.
Wife finally came back from shopping and brought me the lawn mower gas can. Put at MOST 3/4 gallon in the tank and then rode another 3 miles to the gas station. Filled her up to the very top - 2.97 gallons.
It seems at best I've got 3.7 usable gallons in my tank.
Is that really what others are seeing?

Inde - you pushed her 5 miles?!? She is a lot lighter than my last ride but pushing her 400 ft to the parking lot was plenty for me
Old 07-28-2009, 07:03 PM
evil man of nothing
MotoGP

captainchaos is on a distinguished road
Been there. Seemed like my friggin light came on and a few miles later I was out! Sputtered and died & coasted into a gas station and of course they're CLOSED. She tried so hard and even started back up and seemed to run on one cylinder about halfway to the next station lol. Had to push pretty far but I'm paranoid and was relieved when I filled it up and it ran perfect again.
Old 07-28-2009, 07:05 PM
Slacker
Superstock
Superstock

BeerHunter is an unknown quantity at this point