General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

New member intro

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2013, 08:57 PM
Squid

Spawnbike is on a distinguished road
New member intro

Hi I am new to to this forum but not new to VTR have and still own my 98.
I recently started rebuilding my VTR that i have neglected for several years after a crash.

At this point besides cosmetics the bike is running perfectly except for one issue.
I have destroyed two new batteries. I pulled the battery started the bike with a booster pack and tested the voltage from the battery terminals. Voltage readout is 6 volts with no lights on bumps up to 8 with them on. When revved voltage drops and bike shuts down I am pretty sure i need to replace the alternator. But it does not hurt to ask others for there opinion. Any replies would be most appreciated.
Old 12-28-2013, 09:24 PM
SuperBike

NHSH is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by Spawnbike
Hi I am new to to this forum but not new to VTR have and still own my 98.
I recently started rebuilding my VTR that i have neglected for several years after a crash.

At this point besides cosmetics the bike is running perfectly except for one issue.
I have destroyed two new batteries. I pulled the battery started the bike with a booster pack and tested the voltage from the battery terminals. Voltage readout is 6 volts with no lights on bumps up to 8 with them on. When revved voltage drops and bike shuts down I am pretty sure i need to replace the alternator. But it does not hurt to ask others for there opinion. Any replies would be most appreciated.

I would check the R/R first 'Regulator Rectifier'. that is one of the most common causes to most electrical issues on these bikes, here is a link for a thread that covers it all, created by one of the best electrical engineers on the forum:
https://www.superhawkforum.com/forum...why-how-25117/
Old 12-29-2013, 09:47 AM
MotoGP

Wolverine is on a distinguished road