General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Loud sixth gear?

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2006, 03:37 PM
Back Marker

SuperHawkins is on a distinguished road
Loud sixth gear?

Hey yall, I'm new to the superhawk game...got mine a week ago and going through it....and I notice that 6th gear seems to be excessively loud. I posted on another forum and I was told I'm probably just hearing things, or that as long as it shifts fine and has oil, to not worry about it.

Just figured I'd ask you guys since, well, you all have superhawks! It's a whining noise accompanied by a slight vibration. Only present in 6th gear, noticeable at all speeds including highway.
Old 12-29-2006, 04:30 PM
SuperBike

RickB is on a distinguished road
My 02's 6th gear seems quiet...

someone on here today stated they had a 5th gear noise and was asking if the trannys were the same from '98 on and they are.

Originally Posted by SuperHawkins
Hey yall, I'm new to the superhawk game...got mine a week ago and going through it....and I notice that 6th gear seems to be excessively loud. I posted on another forum and I was told I'm probably just hearing things, or that as long as it shifts fine and has oil, to not worry about it.

Just figured I'd ask you guys since, well, you all have superhawks! It's a whining noise accompanied by a slight vibration. Only present in 6th gear, noticeable at all speeds including highway.
Old 12-30-2006, 03:06 AM
SuperSport

shayne is on a distinguished road
Hmmmmm........I don't like the sound of that. Mine is quiet after a full rebuild of the gearbox, as part of my engine job.

There is no reason I cn think of as to why sixth gear should make any more noise than any other gear. I think this needs looking into before you have a major problem. Remember if you have a failure, and broken bits will be rattling around with your crankshaft in the sump. Not good.
Old 12-30-2006, 02:34 PM
SuperSport

jschmidt