General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

jet kit installation

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2005, 07:18 PM
MotoGP

mikstr is on a distinguished road
jet kit installation

Sorry for the Newbie question ( ). Despite doing a lot of work on snowmobiles in the past I am fairly new to doing work on the VTR. So, as I was contemplating installing my Dynojet kit in the coming days, I was wondering if the choke cables and coolant lines have to be removed in order to change the (main) jets on carbs? Is outright carb removal necessary? I would imagine (perhaps incorrectly) that I can replace the needles without pulling the carbs right out? Am I right?

I am asking these questions as I live in an apartment and so will be in the unenviable position of having to do this on the side of the street Alternatively, I can also wait until my next valve adjustment (due shortly) and have the dealer install it.

So how difficult/easy is to install the jet kit? (I will not be drilling the slides as per advice received from Revolution Racing in the UK)

Thanks again folks and sorry for my Newbie-ness

cheers
Old 05-25-2005, 08:46 PM
SuperSport

NOrrTH is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: jet kit installation

I just finished doing this Monday.

The tank has to come off. The air box has to come off. The choke line doesn't need to come off, only where it clamps to the frame, so you can pull it through when.....you take the carbs off And yes, there is a crap load of lines that need to be pulled off.

Your right, the carbs do not need to come off if your just changing the needles.
Old 05-25-2005, 09:09 PM
SuperBike

Thumper is an unknown quantity at this point

wondering if the choke cables and coolant lines have to be removed in order to change the (main) jets on carbs? Is outright carb removal necessary? I would imagine (perhaps incorrectly) that I can replace the needles without pulling the carbs right out? Am I right?
In order of question: