General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

HID, Xenon and the confusion...

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2008, 11:31 AM
Out of my mind, back in 5
MotoGP

Tweety is on a distinguished road
HID, Xenon and the confusion...

Ok, I'm by no means an expert... I do have a reasonable grasp on it tough as I did a lot of research before starting my retrofit...

HID = Xenon... It's simple and still not... HID and Xenon isn't the same and there are many confusing misconception advertised on the net... there are "Xenon" halogen bulbs... The name "Xenon" is the gas... The type of bulb is still HID...

Xenon = Not HID... A HID bulb needs an ignitor, if it doesn't it's obviously not a HID bulb...

What is HID ?HID, High Intensity Discharge, (also known as Xenon) refers to lighting technology that relies on an electrical charge to ignite xenon gas in a sealed bulb, similar to the lightning phenomenon in the sky. HID lighting does not have a filament but instead creates light by igniting an electrical discharge between two electrodes in an air tight tiny quartz capsule filled with xenon gas. HID lighting are also called Xenon lighting, referring to the gas inside the bulb.

HID vs. Halogen Technologies
HID lighting improves durability by 10 times as road vibrations can cause damage to halogen filament, but there is nothing to break inside HID bulb. These light sources also produce a blue-white light that is safer because it is closer to natural daylight.
The color temperature is more than 5000K compared to 2300K for halogen. The light output from a 35W HID Xenon lamp is 300% more light than a 55W halogen bulb. The HID Xenon system will also consume much less power from your vehicles electrical system and generate much less heat during operation.

HID Advantages
  • 3X Brigther & more consistent illumination of the road, and increases comfort & reduces fatigue when driving at night
  • Produces blue-white light that is safer because it is closer to natural daylight