General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Hawk Died

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2013, 01:53 PM
Squid

mad342 is on a distinguished road
Hawk Died

I am fairly new to this bike as I just bought it a few weeks ago. I have been riding it back and fourth around town and such, no long trips. It has run like a top with no problems what so ever. However today on the way home it just died. No dash lights, nothing. Fuses in the small black block are all ok. Battery reads 12.7V and appears fairly new. Checked the ground to the engine, tight. Dash is dead? Could it be the ignition switch?

I'm stumped!!

Any help would help.
Old 04-22-2013, 01:58 PM
SuperBike

Wicky is on a distinguished road
Check the main 30amp fuse beside the starter relay. Make sure the battery connections are clean and tight as they can vibrate loose.

On a reliability note: If you have an unfinned R/R fitted on VTRs before 2001, replace it with an upgrade finned one or MOSFET type before it cooks itself.

Firestorm / SuperHawk (VTR1000F) Regulator Rectifier Modification

Last edited by Wicky; 04-22-2013 at 02:02 PM.
Old 04-22-2013, 02:02 PM
Back Marker

Shane702 is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by Wicky
Check the main 30amp fuse beside the starter relay. Make sure the battery connections are clean and tight as they can vibrate loose.

On a reliability note: If you have an unfinned R/R fitted on VTRs before 2001, replace it before it cooks itself.

Firestorm / SuperHawk (VTR1000F) Regulator Rectifier Modification