General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

General Upgrades - Advice please!

Old 07-12-2019, 07:42 PM
Squid

Frrrunkiss is on a distinguished road
Question General Upgrades - Advice please!

Newbie here.. bought and sold a couple different bikes for the past 15 years. Just bought my second superhawk used 2000 with 10k miles on it. It's probably going to be the last street bike I buy for a while. Completely stock for the most part. Got it fully serviced as well, runs like a champ. Wondering if anyone has some advice on which upgrades I should do. I am pretty mechanically inclined but no where near a bike mechanic and I definitely don't mind paying my mechanic to install the stuff I buy.. First thing I'm looking for is an exhaust (gotta get that thunder back!). My old hawk had a couple mods when I bought it used including full two bros exhaust which is literally impossible for to find now. So my first question would be: What are some general mods (besides exhaust) I could do to improve performance? Second: Where in gods name can I find a full aftermarket exhaust system?! I've seen Black Widow on ebay but I've heard some horror stories about fitting them.. I'm looking for a sound just like the two brothers. My mechanic suggested I just get some good slip-ons and I'll be fine but didnt tell me what brand. Any suggestions would be really helpful. I have a decent budget for this thing since I just sold my ZRX1100 for a lot more. Thanks fellers.

PS: Dont need cosmetic advice.... yet...

Old 07-12-2019, 08:07 PM
MotoGP

mikstr is on a distinguished road
It all depends on what you are hoping to achieve, but braided brake lines, decent pads, fork springs (for your weight) and a re-valve (for weight and riding style) would be good starting points IMO...
Old 07-12-2019, 08:42 PM
Superstock

CaryDG is on a distinguished road