General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Fork Oil

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2010, 08:58 PM
Superstock

doomcookie is on a distinguished road
Fork Oil

Hey guys it's my first time changing the fork seal and and dust seal.. I just want to confirm this before i add oil.. I did some searching and found several answers. One say stock oil is Showa SS-55 I think that mean it have the wt on bottle. One told me that in the manual which for the life of me can not find to confirm I must be blind is SS-8 7.5 wt.. Manual say 130mm gap

I'm trying to go with stock oil wt. I'm not heavy the bike dont even know i'm on it. Can you guys help me with this? I need to know the stock WT oil to use and air gap measurement. Only doing one fork so that's why i'm trying to match the stock.

I can not believe they charge 280 for labor to change seal.. I took my fork apart in 30 min. 280 an hour? for one fork..

Thanks
Old 06-17-2010, 10:02 PM
Superstock

Ok I did confirm couple things.. Now i feel bad about posting this thread.. I finally found it SS-8 is the oil.. 130mm air gap... Still one more question SS-8 is a particular weight right? So if I tell them I need SS-8 then they not going to ask me what weight to I need right?
Old 06-18-2010, 03:15 AM
SuperSport

residentg is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by doomcookie
Ok I did confirm couple things.. Now i feel bad about posting this thread.. I finally found it SS-8 is the oil.. 130mm air gap... Still one more question SS-8 is a particular weight right? So if I tell them I need SS-8 then they not going to ask me what weight to I need right?