General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Adding a link to a 530 chain?

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2014, 07:05 PM
Squid
Squid

superman22x is on a distinguished road
Adding a link to a 530 chain?

Picked up my Superhawk recently. Previous owner bought new front and rear sprockets, and a new chain. However, he bought a 43 tooth sprocket, and the chain isn't long enough to accommodate the added tooth. I'm not sure of the brand of the chain though... Can I just added in any brand master links? Or would that not be a good idea? I don't have a problem running stock size sprockets, I'm new to the whole bike, so I don't need any extra acceleration just yet. I'm just looking for the cheaper yet still safe solution.
Old 03-25-2014, 08:55 PM
SuperBike

scottiemann is on a distinguished road
A master link is just the exterior link.. not sure if thats the best way to explain it... a chain has interior links and exterior links alternating...

If you just need the master link, any brand will do as long as its the same size(obviously) and it uses x rings or o rings... i have tried to buy a master link in a pinch from a local harley/cruiser bike shop but most of those bikes dont run any type of rubber o rings therefore the pins are too short...

So if you just need a master link theres what to look for... but if you need more then that, as far as i know, you need to buy a longer chain
Old 03-25-2014, 09:35 PM
MotoGP

nuhawk is on a distinguished road