General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

98 Super Hawk

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2006, 09:33 PM
MotoGP

nuhawk is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up 98 Super Hawk

I finally achieved one of my dreams by unloading a "new to me" Super Hawk on Sunday. It's wonderfully maintained and has under 15K. I haven't been on two wheels in a long time so I have many questions. I still have to do the rider edu and get the insurance stuff in place. It appears that the last owner hadn't had the bike inspected since 04. I'm in Texas - what's this inspection all about? Thanks!
Old 09-11-2006, 09:40 PM
Hmm?
SuperBike

marmaladedad is on a distinguished road
PICTURES!!!

Congrats on the pickup.
Old 09-11-2006, 09:58 PM
MotoGP

Definitely Pix!

Before I did this job I was a pro photographer did some cinema too. I'm definitely going to get her in a sweet spot someplace with the sun just right and take a lot of shots.:grin:
Old 09-11-2006, 10:00 PM
Hmm?
SuperBike

I can't wait! I could use some pointers on shooting angles and the like. Most of my bike pictures are shot from straight on...usually even directly into the light.
Old 09-11-2006, 10:10 PM
MotoGP

Lighting

Try shooting some pix on a bright but overcast day. Digital cams have a bad habit of being too contrasty - the shadows go to black and the highlights flare out. Try it - you might like the results.
Old 09-11-2006, 10:13 PM
Hmm?
SuperBike

I plan on picking up a DSLR soon, but I'd still just be using it like a point and shoot. Need to learn how to play with the settings.
Old 09-11-2006, 11:52 PM
Back Marker

gssbmm
The inspection in texas basicly cheaks that all the major stuff is working. brakes, lights, horn, mirror(you only have to have one), and tires are all in good shape. you have to have insurance before you get it inspected. cost 12.95 everywhere might be a dollor more since it's been so long but thats the state mandated price

Welcome to austin
Old 09-12-2006, 07:24 AM
SuperBike