Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

VTR original forks question

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2010, 01:31 AM
Squid

a_morti is on a distinguished road
VTR original forks question

Hi all,

I am a newbie here to pick your technical brains.

I have a Honda CB-1, my second one now after having my first for 6 years, deciding to "move up" then 3 years later after 2 fireblades and a 955i daytona, deciding I want another CB-1. I am going to upgrade from the single disc sliding caliper forks, to VTR forks. I know VTR forks are not the best out there, but they:
  • have the right caliper mounts
  • were available cheaply
  • have some adjustment (CB1 forks have none not even preload)
  • allow me to keep my triple trees
  • allow me to use the CBR400 front wheel that I want to use for that great Honda six-spoke effect. The wheel is the same as a VFR750 94-97 front.

Anyways, my questions relate to the original forks. I have sourced a bent pair very cheaply. I will have the forks in bits, and naturally will replace all seals and bushes with Honda OEM. I will be shortening the fork by 15mm by using my own stanchions, and shortening the spacer to suit. Are there any well-known CHEAP mods I should be doing while the forks are in pieces? What's the recommended oil weight and air gap? I weight just 150lb, and the CB-1 is probably slightly lighter than the VTR. I read that VTR spring are a little light, but think that would likely cancel out.

I plan to use a full brake set up from e.g. CBR929,954,600RR. These are later calipers than the VTR with bigger pistons.

Thanks in advance,

Aaron

Last edited by a_morti; 12-17-2010 at 01:42 AM.
Old 12-17-2010, 01:35 AM
Squid

My CB-1:

Name:  Rightside.jpg
Views: 200
Size:  44.7 KB

A picture of another CB-1 with VTR forks:
Name:  SDC11611.jpg
Views: 194
Size:  72.1 KB

The forks I bought for £25 delivered (messy, but hopefully the bottoms are recoverable):

Last edited by a_morti; 12-17-2010 at 01:41 AM.