Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

sprocket question??

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2012, 10:33 PM
Back Marker

Shane702 is on a distinguished road
sprocket question??

okay some of you guys said because I got a race chain installed and didn't get new sprockets, they are still stock ones, that is pretty bad... i've been trying to find sprocket information on forum... i've been sitting here for awhile now and I still dont know what the differences are?? can anyone help me out please?? Im trying to order some on ebay.. I hear vortex are pretty good? is that true?? and what is the difference between numbers?? I am new to riding, and ride street.. but I would eventually in the near future like to learn to wheelie(always looked so fun to me) so what would be my best fit?? any help would be much appreciate so I can order them and get my bike up and running and everything the way I want before I start work next week(it is my only transportation, besides taking my girlfriends car), thanks for any info.. or any clarity as I am lost
Old 07-17-2012, 11:16 PM
Banned
MotoGP

8541Hawk will become famous soon enough
I replied to your PM but will ad some info here.
For your question of what the numbers mean this pic should help

sprocket question??-motorcycle_chain.gif

The stock chain size on a VTR is 530

Which by looking at the pic means there is 5\8" between the link pins and it is 3\8" between the inside of the side plates.

So people run a 520 chain to save weight but they do wear out quicker and on the street you will not see much advantage.

The one key thing is you must match chain size and sprocket size, which means you must use 530 sprockets with a 530 chain. the same goes for the 520 parts.

I would also recommend running steel sprockets. You will see adds for aluminum rear sprockets. Once again this is more for racing applications and they wear out too quickly for street use.