Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

shop ripoff?

Old 10-20-2008, 12:35 PM
Back Marker

bundleofgrundle is on a distinguished road
shop ripoff?

hey all,
so i just picked up my SHawk this summer and it finally got the the point where i had to do some routine maintenance. I was thinking i would bring it to the local shop here in MA to get an oil change among other things. I've established a pretty good relationship with the people at the shop so you can imagine how blown away i was when they said that they charge around $75 for an oil change!!!

needless to say i made some time in my schedule to do it myself. wound up saving plenty of cash doing it at home.

seeing as i am pretty new to the motorcycle world, does this sound right? i am pretty mechanically inclined so i have no problem undertaking a good portion of the work on my steed. Is super expensive service something i'm going to have to come to grips with? $40 in labor charges for a quick oil change seems astronomical to me.

what do you all think?
Old 10-20-2008, 12:54 PM
2nd mouse gets the cheese
SuperBike

Little_Horse is on a distinguished road
seems high to me... but not surprising
Old 10-20-2008, 01:22 PM
Superstock

sassage is on a distinguished road
labor charges are pretty outrageous these days...unless it's something serious, i do everything myself. plus, it's good way to ge tto know your bike.
Old 10-20-2008, 02:47 PM
Greenmeansgo!
Back Marker

Reason is on a distinguished road
My hawk is streetfightered so I don't know if you have to take off more than the chin fairing, but at $75 - sheesh. I can't imagine who would pay for that.
Old 10-20-2008, 02:52 PM
SuperBike

trinc is on a distinguished road
sometimes it's hard to justify it, but ...

the shop has to stock the parts, pay the mechanic, rent, utilities & insurance & try to make a little money.

good for you for learning to do it yourself !

tim
Old 10-20-2008, 05:07 PM
Remember stock is BAD!
SuperSport
SuperSport