Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Rattle when you rev the engine

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2007, 06:58 PM
Back Marker

midijunky is on a distinguished road
Rattle when you rev the engine

Hello all, I've noticed a rattle that sounds like it's coming from my top end when I rev my engine and then let the rpm's drop. I've done the ghetto mechanics stethoscope trick and it sounds like it's coming from the timing cover. Is this what failing CCT's sound like?
Old 08-03-2007, 07:09 PM
Superstock

redman is on a distinguished road
I'm fairly new to Shawks but I would say YES. Did it start all of a sudden? Rattley sounds from the top end mean you shouldn't ride it until you take the covers off and look around.
Old 08-03-2007, 07:18 PM
Back Marker

it's been there for a little bit, was a little quieter than it is now. It seems to be intermittent. From a cold start it will start doing it, once it reaches operating temperature if I turn the engine off and then restart it the rattle goes away.
Old 08-03-2007, 07:29 PM
Superstock

Don't be foolish/lazy.....check compression, yank covers and take a very careful peek at cams, lifters, chain. Reach around and try and rattle things. Maybe if you're really lucky it'll be the chain cover came loose or something like that. A good flashlight, a long screw driver, some tools, and a weekend.
Swap for CCTs, stock or APEs just out of love for your bike if you don't find anything amiss.
If you just ride it until something breaks.....you'll regret it...badly.
Old 08-04-2007, 01:20 AM
Back Marker

I'm not being foolish and/or lazy, I just dont have the luxury of another mode of transportation, so i cant just up and put the bike out of commission. I'm trying my best to shuffle everything but eh... i need to find someone to lend me a ride for a few days i suppose. in the meantime, all i can do is pray it doesn't fall apart.
Old 08-04-2007, 11:03 AM
Superstock

My prayers are with you too...good luck!