Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

R/R or Stator?

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2010, 01:01 PM
Back Marker

Camelninja is on a distinguished road
R/R or Stator?

Ok so Im about to order a part on Ebay..... yay... but I need to know how I can tell what the problem is. I have a brand spanking new battery in the Shawk, but the battery keeps dying on me. I even managed to pop start it in second which required a lot more finesse than my last bike, and it allowed me to ride it for quite a long time (30-40 minutes) and then I got off the bike and turned it off and the bike was already dead. I don't have a meter btw... sorry :-( Im a poor college student putting myself through grad-school with the GIBill so I really cant afford to buy a stator AND an R/R... any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old 08-01-2010, 01:37 PM
Squid

Christian_man30 is an unknown quantity at this point
more than likely your r/r. i had same exact problem little over month ago. i switched to this and fixed it right up. ebay.com 320559383085. check this out as well:
http://vtr1000f.wickidnet.com/
Old 08-01-2010, 01:45 PM
MotoGP

lazn is on a distinguished road
over 90% of the time it is the R/R
Old 08-01-2010, 03:30 PM
Back Marker

Ok so I went to the website about the R/R replacement. My bike didn't fail when I was riding, once I got it popstarted it ran fine. Does everyone still think that its the R/R? Also, how hard is the operation really going to be? I don't have many tools or good facilities at my disposal so if I ruin this Ill be in deep doody. Thanks!
Old 08-01-2010, 03:58 PM
Out of my mind, back in 5
MotoGP

Tweety is on a distinguished road
The link that Christian man gave you really tells you the whole story... If you go for a R1 unit, that's how you do it... If you replace it with a new OEM unit, you can do it with the tools under the saddle if neccesary...
Old 08-01-2010, 04:11 PM
Back Marker