Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Purchase Advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2010, 03:13 PM
Squid
Squid

novamon is on a distinguished road
Purchase Advice

I'm brand new to the forum and don't own a SuperHawk yet. I'm gathering information so I can purchase intelligently. I've been riding since 1966 on a variety of machines so I'm not new to the sport. Whomever has some hard-earned knowledge about what to watch for in a purchase and problems particular to the SH, I'd love to hear from you. No need to go over the obvious problems like poorly done modifications and bad maintenance. I need help with things that are specific to owning a SH.

Many thanks.
Novamon
Old 01-30-2010, 03:27 PM
SuperSport

Stevebis1 is on a distinguished road
Welcome to the forum.
You will find lots of great info here. To get you started and to answer your questions, there is not much mechanically different between the years - newer bikes (think its 02 and up) get an updated instrument cluster.
Universal issues with the superhawk are the regulator/rectifier and the cam chain tensioner. CCT generally get changed with manual - APE is common, and the RR is updated with newer finned honda or yamaha models that work.
As for looking for anything specific it really is pretty much the obvious items as you mentioned.
Again, welcome - And good luck finding a VTR
Old 01-30-2010, 05:36 PM
evil man of nothing
MotoGP

captainchaos is on a distinguished road
Yeah Steve mentioned the most common mechanical worries...other than that I'd say you should be able to find a pretty nice bike at or just above trade in value. It's alot of bike for the money, and you'll see folks out there asking for more, but the truth is they're going to be sitting on them for awhile. Sucks for any of us who own one and want to sell, but that's kinda how it is right now. Welcome aboard. Where are you located?
Old 01-30-2010, 07:07 PM
COBB Member
Superstock

stebbdt is on a distinguished road