Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Nightmare, shop did engin swap bike runs like shit

Old 04-15-2012, 04:17 PM
Superstock

blamecanada is on a distinguished road
Nightmare, shop did engin swap bike runs like ****

Hey super hawkers,

A shop my friend recommended swapped in an engine for me after a CCT related failure and now the bike won't maintain steady state cruising at freeway speeds....if I open the throttle hard it accelerates fine but once I am at sixty or seventy if I try to maintain a steady speed or to keep constant throttle for corner entry the bike hesitates and comes off and on the power very very badly.

I brought it back to me several times...at first they reconnected the pair system but I still have the same issue...I got it back from them and tried adjusting the tps to five hundred ohms but the problem remains.

It looks to me like vacuum lines are connected but I am no expert, at this point I would love some suggestions on where to start.
Old 04-15-2012, 06:15 PM
MotoGP

smokinjoe73 is on a distinguished road
Pair system will only do that if it half disconnected and leaves the airbox open. This shop should make good on it and get it running.

What are they claiming is the issue and how much did you pay them?

Oh yeah, what are they messing with the tps for? It is a non adjustable item and just bolts on. (yes you can adjust it if you break in but that doesn't count)
Old 04-15-2012, 09:48 PM
Superstock

Wow my apologies for the horrible grammar, I was in an drunken hurry to post this earlier...I had previously done the TPS modification from the KB article.

The pair system is connected up and there are no open holes into the airbox, and I agree they should make good but they seem incompetent and I don't want them to break anything else...there are fasteners changed out on the bike and things missing, it's a bit of a long story but basically I don't want them to touch it again.
Old 04-16-2012, 03:34 AM
SuperBike