Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Intermittent low rpm issues

Old 10-22-2014, 05:46 PM
Back Marker

wannabridin is on a distinguished road
Intermittent low rpm issues

Ok, so some issues I'm hoping for advice on, and the actual fixes vs. temporary ones. One small one: sometimes the speedometer will jump up to 80ish mph from a steady cruise at 40-50. A speedo healer came with the bike, but I've never used one before, wondering what's up with that...

When idling (cold more-so than warmed up, but still an issue with both) I am having what sound like hiccups and feeling a small jolt. I hear a mechanical sound, almost like it jumped a tooth or something. These hiccups can lead to the bike dieing while idling, it happened to me about 4 times today after coming to a stop. Three times at a light or when pulling into a parking spot, once in stop-n-go traffic (not good as I still haven't bypassed the neutral switch yet...).

Also, the bike has been sitting for a few weeks since its last 3 week straight daily driver run ending in a 25 minute ride through a TORRENTIAL downpour. Bike ran fine and still does (pulls like crazy above 5k), but when trying to maintain slow speed and steady throttle (school zone, slow freeway traffic) less than 45-50 mph, I get a lot of surging and still feel the above mentioned hiccuping/jolting.

I'm also getting a LOT of backfire pops when decelerating with no throttle input. It's VERY annoying and I'd like to to stop.

I haven't done any kinds of tests yet, and I think the bike is due for a sync (driving in CO with TX jetting led to some very strained acceleration uphills with lots of small hiccups). Bike is a 2001 with lightened flywheel, stick coils, PAIR removal, manual CCT's, adjusted TPS and has been previously (before my ownership) jetted to the Danmoto pipes (have baffles now).