Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Flat spot in throttle at 3-4k

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2013, 11:07 AM
Squid

Troy Wallis is on a distinguished road
Question Flat spot in throttle at 3-4k

I have owned my 2002 Superhawk for about 4 months. It had 12000 miles on it when I bought it. I took it to a shop and had it gone through at 13000 miles. Mechanic said it was mechanically sound. Bike is pretty much stock. Recently it has been acting strange when I give it hard throttle between 3-4k. I can only describe it as a flat spot. I am new to motorcycles so I may not be describing it correct. If I roll on the throttle smooth it is fine through the whole range. But if I crank on the gas it lurches and shakes up till 4k then smoothes out. The only things I have done since the mechanic check it was change the air filter (stock filter) and remove the evap canister. When not in gear I can rev the engine and it doesn't miss or hesitate through 3-4k. When under load it does. I checked for vaccum leaks, reattached the evac can and changed the plugs this weekend with no change. I put carb cleaner in the tank also. I have run out of gas a couple times because the meter doesn't work properly. Not sure if that would cause this but just trying to give as much info as possible. I am 95% sure I put the evap lines back in proper locations. Not sure if that would cause this problem. I live in the Sacramento area. I know there are a few Hawk owners around if anyone could take a look at it that would be great. I can't imagine it could be anything major. I feel like I am just over looking something simple. I don't want to pay my mechanic 70 bucks to attach a hose but am getting to that point.

Thanks for any help.
Old 08-23-2013, 12:15 AM
Bike Aficionado
Squid

wigglers is on a distinguished road