Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Connecting Rod Torque

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2010, 09:38 PM
Squid

dpeckmn is on a distinguished road
Connecting Rod Torque

Hello and thanks for an awesome site. I've been soaking up all the good stuff for some time now.

I got my second SuperHawk earlier this summer as a project/basket case. It's been sitting for over 10 years and I'm the third person to get the bike and parts. But I will be the last as I plan on keeping this one for some time.

Since I had the motor out and torn down I had the bore honed as well as new rings and connecting rod bolts. The manual calls for replacing them every time. I've never done that before but I'm going to keep this one so what's another $20 bucks.

Anyway the torque specs call for 14 lb ft + 120 degress. Does that mean that I should get to 14 lb then go another 3/4 turn? I've never seen specs. like this so it just seems a little odd. If you have any info it would be much appreciated.

From the manual: TORQUE: 20N m (2.0 kgfm . 14 Ibft) +120'

FYI: I have a second engine in nice condition that I tore down. I will have parts online soon but if you need anything shoot me an email. Thanks.

Doug
Attached Thumbnails Connecting Rod Torque-projectsuperhawksmall.jpg  
Old 09-30-2010, 09:51 PM
Squid

dpeckmn is on a distinguished road
Wow that was fast. Thanks!

I'm not sure why I was thinking it was 3/4. It seemed like a long way past the torque spec. I guess I should have asked my 5th grader before posting this.
Old 09-30-2010, 10:11 PM
SuperBike

autoteach is on a distinguished road
um, you will need your wheaties on this one. I broke a socket in the process.
Old 10-01-2010, 09:03 AM
SuperBike

RCVTR is an unknown quantity at this point