Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Bolts sheared off slave cylinder - HELP

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2014, 09:34 PM
Squid

NewGuy is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Bolts sheared off slave cylinder - HELP

Hey there,
My apologies this is my first time working on a motorcycle....

Today I changed the stator and R&R on my 98 Superhawk.
After replacing the stator I bolted the left crankcase back on w/ new gasket then went to bolt the clutch slave cylinder back in place but it was hard to push back on. My friend said that the piston was spring loaded, so that last little bit should be harder to push tight. He pushed the clutch slave cylinder flush and tightened the three bolts (25 lbs torque per manual). We changed that R&R, filled with oil (3.9 liters) and started it. The bike started great, I engaged the clutch after starting and it fell sponging and weird, I looked down and saw my clutch slave cylinder dangling, bolts on the ground. All three bolts sheared and shot out!
What did I do wrong? Has anyone ever had this happen? Do you have any idea what potential damage I did?
Thanks in advance
Chris

ps like I said this was my first project, please let me know if I'm not explaining something well or I'm using the incorrect term.
Old 05-04-2014, 02:10 AM
SuperBike

Wicky is on a distinguished road
These 3 bolts that hold the clutch slave?

Looking at 5-6lbs/ft of torque - tight plus a bit. Remove broken studs, order new bolts and try again
Old 05-04-2014, 02:22 AM
Squid

Yes those three, is that really what it was, too much torque? Thanks for your reply, I must have been looking at the torque for the oil bolt in the steps on the next page. So you would assume no damage was done shearing those bolts and just replace?
Thanks again,
Chris
Old 05-04-2014, 03:18 AM
SuperBike